a prayer for my daughter

I pray that growing up will not smother the fire of her soul.

I pray that no one and nothing– whether church, school, or even parents– will be able to discipline away her spirit.

I pray that she never become submissive or docile.

I pray that she never look to anyone else for self-worth.

I pray that she know I love her, even though I have never understood her, her wild heart, her sass, her endless self-confidence, her willful need to break away from anything like unto obedience.

I pray that no matter how many times I tell her to, she will never blindly obey me. That she will never blindly obey anyone. That she will always think for herself.

I pray she will not change who she is to be “good.” I was a good girl once, and the price of goodness was loss of self.

I pray she not repeat the mistakes I’ve made.

I pray she never be tamed.

2 Comments

  1. Sharon said,

    October 13, 2012 at 4:56 am

    Wonderful! Anyone who has a daughter knows exactly what you are praying about. Their spirit is so precious and tender – our only hope is that no one or anything will ever damage it or make them question who they are. Thank you for posting this – hope many mothers read it.

  2. Ruth said,

    December 28, 2012 at 3:24 pm

    She will be amazing!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

